New fishkeeper, new to the forum

LuminousAphid

Greetings!

I am fairly new to the whole hobby, but my first fish was actually way back in grade school. I think it was a white cloud, and we used it for an "experiment" on fertilizer runoff. This involved putting a 2 liter bottle half, with several fish in it, below another 2 liter bottle, in which was a terrarium with plants. I think we used fertilizer in some, and not in others, and we recorded how many of the fish died I guess... seems sort of sadistic now that I think of it, but I guess it was a good lesson in ecosystem trickle-down effects. I actually kept a couple of the fish afterward, and 1 of them survived for a couple of years after that, with just an undergravel airstone filter and minimal water changes. I remember the tank being clogged with floating algae at some points (obviously it wasn't planted), so I'm sure that little guy didn't have a great life, but I didn't care too much or think about it at that point, I was a little kid with better things to worry about.

Within the last couple years, I have picked up the hobby again, this time actually bothering to read up at least a little on the basics. I still really had no idea what I was doing when I got a starter 10 gallon kit about 3 years ago, because I didn't really understand how to maintain a cycled tank. I would do things like tear down the whole tank and clean everything when there was too much algae, or get a Golden CAE that would quickly outgrow anything I had to keep it in. So, I was still making tons of mistakes and not really enjoying it that much, until recently...