What’s up with Beamworks LED lights?

blobaugh

I have been rocking Beamworks LED lights on my tanks since 2014 or 2015. Every year power supplies die on me. I have spent as much in replacement power supplies as the lights themselves by this point. Happens on all my tanks, across multiple houses. The current house has new wiring and the tanks are on different breakers, so I do not suspect it is the incoming electricity.

Yesterday the power supply died on my 150….

The lights themselves seem great. Super bright, easy to set up brightness levels. Plants grow well with them. Anyone else experience this, or am I some sort of oddity?

sir_keith

Legendary Member
Contributing Member Level III
I have been running Beamswork EA and DA lights on all 12 of my tanks for about ten years, and have never had a power supply fail. That said, all of my lights are running through optional Beamswork Timer/Dimmer modules, with the actinic lights set to 100% and the 6500K lights set to 10 or 20%. I have no idea whether that makes any difference, but there it is.

IMG_4962.jpg

DMD123

Administrator
Staff member
I remember hearing about those problems years ago when LEDs were first starting out but I have not really heard of this in more recent times. I think I have only had one power supply ever go out on me in the past 10 years and it wasn’t a Beamswork, it was a fancy Current USA fixture. I ended up buying a larger power supply and chaining two fixtures to it with a single timer.

blobaugh

So it is me then :(

I have replaced with both beamworks and generic power supplies.

I do have the dimmers on the tanks. I was suspecting that, but if y’all use them too then that is an unlikely culprit.

Grr. This is frustrating.

sir_keith

Legendary Member