New to the forum, from Tacoma

janky

So I just randomly stumbled across this forum from a craigslist ad. lol
Kinda wish I knew about this earlier, but I am hoping to read a ton on here and find some quality breeders/shops in the area!

I'm fairly new to fish and still have quite a bit to learn. My gf and I got a hand-me-down 12 gal hex from her family, and I started browsing for what we could put in it. Saltwater seemed a bit over my head, so I chose freshwater. We started with some glofish danios and guppies. As of now, we have them rehomed to a 10 gallon long (they love the horizontal room to dart around) with 2 snails and 2 ghost shrimp.

I'm using the 12 gal hex as a QT tank, and I have a 55 gal display tank that we just set up. I wanted discus, but on a student budget they seemed to be insanely expensive and finding a good breeder that would cut me a deal on shipping was near impossible.
As of now, my 55 gal is holding a school of 10 x-ray tetra, 2 juvy angels (marble black and a more platinum striped guy), 2 cockatoo cichlids (one reg apisto gramma and one agassizi), an unknown pleco, and 2 japanese clear shrimp.

I'm looking to add a gold nugget pleco, a double dark angel (if I can find one!), and a couple gouramis if space/bioload permits.

Either way, there's my lengthy intro, and hello everyone! I look forward to asking 20 ?s and getting to chat with you all! :D

sandnuka

Hey, Welcome to WFB.. This is an awesome place to learn more about your new found hobby.... From what you said you pretty much are sticking with community fish.... When you make the leap to cichlids is when the hobby gets really interesting!

If your into more colorful bright fish, african rift lake is probably more the way....

If your into bigger fish with big personality check out the american cichlids... (Gonna need allot bigger than a 55gal for them though.)

Anyway, Hope you find all the stuff your looking for, dont hesitate to ask any questions, really helpful people on here. :)