Sump and Sponge filters

shua

sandnuka said:
sump10.jpg
sump_o10.jpg
this is like our 150g our 250 and 55 are the retro fit like the one he has q about this one is nice cuz it never has any problems

A

Anonymous

I am new to sumps, no doubt, but you didn't just buy one and become super sump man! lol..

Ok, seriously, I just figured it out. The siphon won't break due to the isolation chamber, so given the water will remain at equilibrium, it will not break siphon..see, I learned something today.

Now, I have it figured out..but I am still keeping my sponges as a redundant filter system.

sandnuka

I deleted a couple posts, not to say anyone said or did anything too out of line.... but really this is a good thread, with allot of good information for people that are tryin to start a sump themselves. so i want to keep the whole thing up, without makin anyone feel dumb.. thanks

shua

be carefull they clog ez. and ash made me learn first befor i could get one see there is a plus to being whipped

A

Anonymous

sandnuka said:
i want to keep the whole thing up, without makin anyone feel dumb.. thanks
That's Ok..only 2 people called me dumb..lol.

Ashley

shua said:
be carefull they clog ez. and ash made me learn first befor i could get one see there is a plus to being whipped
hahaha...yes! I just like knowing about things before I buy them.

A

Anonymous

No worries man, it's cool. It took me a minute to figure out the level in the isolation chamber (due to the drain holes) would not get so low that it broke siphon, the design is purposeful and retains equilibrium, so as long as the return line does not reverse siphon (check valve or keep the return out of water) it will never overflow. I have a much better understanding of the equipment. Thanks for your help!

icer711