subwassertang

awungfoo

I saw this growing in a show tank in LA and there's so many forms it takes that I think it's one of the coolest liverworts out there.  I've seen it dark green in free flowing form, I've seen it look like a clump of brain matter and translucent, but I actually really like how they get undulated and clump together sometimes like how mine are doing.  I just stuck a bunch into an opening in the driftwood and let it do it's thing.  As a Landscaper, I like watching landscape mature over time and the less I have to do, the better.

http://mangemuch.tumblr.com/post/61975417567/took-3-months-for-it-to-look-how-i-wanted-it

A

Anonymous

Admin said:
I find the less light the better with that plant. It might be because it has less to compete with with less light, but it'll seriously grow without any light lol.
So, months have gone by. For the most part this stuff is strung out  in pieces floating around getting stuck in plants. These are the pieces I have been sharing with other members. I notice this plants growth is different if it's under direct light, or in shade. I noticed today in a dark corner some Subwassertang has attached itself to a piece of wood. This piece in the shadows has sparked my interest because it's dark, and tightly compacted, and not all stringy like the pieces Chilling in full light.  I am hoping it will make itself around the whole piece of wood. It would look pretty cool taking the space where no other plant has grown.

Here is a picture of what it looks like. This isn't my actual plant but it looks just like it.

Okay, so there's something that I need to get of my chest here... it that bugs the crap out of me is when people call it subwassertang. There's no B in the spelling! In german the 'ß' character is pronounced as a double 's' sound. The closest English approximation would be to spell it as Süsswassertang. I feel better now!

It's like when some people call Anubias as Anubis, or Anubas... lol