Pool Filter Sand

CMooreCichlids

Does anyone have a specific favorite brand of pool filter sand?

I'm looking to transition from gravel to sand, and am looking for some opinions.

I would like black Tahitian sand, but that's a lot of cash.

PFS is cheap, and I hear good things about it.

Please share opinions and experiences.

Thank you

BoxedWater

I have been using HTH PFS from Ace Hardware for about 6 months now and love it. I think it was around $20 for 100 pounds. My old sand was too sharp for my cories and loaches but this stuff works really well. It only comes in an off-white color though if that makes a difference.

Betty

Staff member
I love it and use it in almost all of my tanks.

Brand I use.
880f3c5c.jpg

A couple of pictures under different lighting.
IMG_0012.jpg

120_zps463b25fc.jpg

It's a tan color and a good sized grain compared to some of the other sands I've tried. The pfs is on the right.  I have bought mine at pool/spa supply stores and also at McClendon's.
fef7b743.jpg

hose91

+1 on the PFS!

I am using this same brand in my first setup, a 75G African.  +1 to all the things Betty said (without all of the pictorial evidence to back it up!).  I rinsed an entire bag using three 5 gallon buckets in about 20 minutes, and even then I think it was overkill.  No real particles came out of my buckets after the 3rd or 4th rinse.  I've got it in the tank now, but no water yet, so can't tell you for sure how it looks, but so far against the black background and under my new current satellite+ LED with all the colors, it looks pretty great.  I got mine at the local pool supply store in Silverdale.

CMooreCichlids

Thank you all very much. This is exactly what I was looking for!

Now to devise the best way to change gravel to sand without breaking the tank down...

Paintguy