Just got a AquaClear 70

anderson_p_r

So I ordered a AC70 and was immediately surprised at the size of it. I had no idea it would be that big. This is fine an all, but wow.

I'm curious however, has anyone extended the intake tube before? I'm putting it on a 2' tall tank and feel like an extended intake tube would be a good idea, but maybe not. If it made sense to extend it, and if anyone else has already done so, how did/would you do it while keeping it looking OEM?

anderson_p_r

Ok, total novice with HOB, I just noticed the two intake tubes can be used in series to extend intake. That kinda works, but was hopping to go further than that, unless it won't make that much of a difference.

DMD123

Administrator
Staff member
Contributing Member Level III
The AC filters are big. Ever seen the AC110? Its HUGE!

To extend the intakes you just use another one on it. I hated having the screen inside the tube so I had cut the screen part off on my extension.

zach_discus

AC hobs are the best!! I have 6 in my fishroom (3-70s and 3-110s). They are BIG. The intake extensions can be ordered and cost a couple bucks.

MorganEA

I got an AC 110 for Christmas and it wouldn't fit on my tank, it was huge!! As far as extending the intake I added another tube.

cichlid-gal

If you just use the tubes as they come...with the intake filter cones as part of them...the stacking them to make the intake longer will get you multiple filter cones and your intake can plug up more and slow flow. Cutting the filter cone off the tubes that are your "extentions" will help with this. I love my Aquaclears...they do a bang up filtration job.

hyp3rcrav3