How to treat Fungus?

joseZ.

i got a new angel a couple of days ago and now it has this small cotton looking thing of its fin im thinking its fungus im not sure i havent had to deal with any Diseases sinse im kinda new to the hobby ill try and get a pic and uploaded tomorrow i wont start treating it until im sure its fungus. also can i treat the whole tank since i dont have another tank to put him in i got the meds for it i just dont want to treat it if its not fungus. to treat it do i have to do like a daily water change or anything special?

Spyral

Ugh, your best bet here is to take the fish out of the tank, cut the fungus off the fin and hope it heals up without it. Madness and I went through this with some pretty expensive fish and it sucks.

Where did you get the fish?

joseZ.

Spyral said:
Ugh, your best bet here is to take the fish out of the tank, cut the fungus off the fin and hope it heals up without it. Madness and I went through this with some pretty expensive fish and it sucks.

Where did you get the fish?
i got the fish from a seller on craigslist it wasn't too expensive i got 3 fish from that guy i got a keyhole cichlid a ram and the angel they were all ok except for the keyhole he was hiding allot but he is coming out more often. what do you mean cut the fungus off the fin?

Madness

Staff member
Does it look like fuzz or a cotton type thing or does it look like a ball of white growth, like cauliflower looking?

How often do you do water changes? What size is the tank? what type of filtration do you have on it? What is the temp of the water? What is the ph?

The thing that Spyral is referring to is called lymphosystus. This has no cure.

So you need to determine exactly what it is. Post a good picture if possible.

joseZ.

madness said:
Does it look like fuzz or a cotton type thing or does it look like a ball of white growth, like cauliflower looking?