How hard is it really?

Wolf-Keeper1

How hard is it to have a saltwater tank? I hear some people that have them say they wont do it again. Then i hear some people say, "It isnt as hard as some people think". I mean how hard is it to setup and maintain? How much time does a saltwater tank take compared to as freashwater, as far as upkeep? I would love to do one, i plan on having a few tanks, but I if it is time consuming maybe it isnt for me. Not that i dont want to, but cause i dont have the time. I work in a hospital we rotate weekends and and I personally work some jacked hours. Would it be somethingthat is do-able with minimum time or is it something i need to constantly watch.

Anyway any info would be helpful. I know I'm all over this board but i want to learn!

lilfishie

Your question really depend on what you are keeping. What fish you want determines how big of a tank you HAVE to have for them. Do you want to keep soft coral, large polyp coral, small polyp coral or just live rock? Are you going to use a sump system, which IMO is the only way to go.
Fish only with Live rock, you will see this abbreviated FOWLR, and having the appropriate fish for the size tank, once the tank has cycled and the bioload is not overwhelming the system, I would probably only do a 15% water change every 4 weeks. Even keeping some soft coral probably 20% water change every 4 weeks.
I keep all coral and a small 6 fish in a 75 gal tank. It is fed quite a bit between the coral and the fish, yes the coral needs to be fed. I still only do approx 20% water change every 4 weeks.
The maintenance is not really the hard part, as it is getting the right equipment to help the system self maintain. It can be some what expensive. There are places to get this equipment at a fraction and a lot of people to help out new SW enthusiasts.
Water is another factor in maintaining the tank. You CAN NOT use tap water. Too much TDS. You will have algae up the you know what!