Hello from Fort Myers, FL

joefish72

Hello everyone,
A new friend of mine told me I should visit this site so here I am. I own an aquarium store and I'm also a big time hobbyist. In my personal collection I prefer wild livebearers but I honestly like almost all fish. I currently keep a nice selection of goodeids and some fancy type swordtails and platies. I enjoy working with some members of the American Livebearer Association as we try to develop new fancy types of livebearers.

As you can imagine there is a whole assortment of native and exotic fish here in Florida. I often visit different parts of the State to sample and collect species and document what I've found. I share a lot my information with the local Fish & Game in an effort to map the spread of exotic species and see if there is any impact on native populations.

I'm always willing to help someone locate a "must have" fish so feel free to message me if you need any help.

Joe

MorganEA

:welcome!: Yay another Livebearer person! My tanks are mostly filled with guppies and platys  :D  Do you have any pictures of your fish?

joefish72

Here is one I developed, the only fish I can claim I did all the work on.
Chainmail Molly (no longer have this line) each scale is outlined in black makes it look like chainmail armor.
th_DSC03071.jpg

Hi-fin blue moon mickey platy
hifinbluemoonmickey3_zps46c5cd6d.jpg

My award winning female brick sword from ALA 2013 she was over 4"
redbrickfemale4inch_zps104e59bf.jpg

A

Anonymous

Hi joefish72, do you have a website ?

Welcome to the forum!!

lloyd378

Administrator
Staff member
Contributing Member Level III
I'm a huge cichlid fan, but must say that your fish are awesome! Welcome to the box!

And as a personal question to you, have you ever fished for the feral cichlids in the drainage systems down there that I have read about so many times in the past?

Will I am

Welcome to the box!