~~~General Meds To Have On Hand~~~

Wolf-Keeper1

Not sure is this was already addressed but what are some good meds to have on hand at all times. I k ow the aquarium salt should be a must. But what else? I had a pictus get the crap beat out of it the other day, luckily Shua was on the line to help. Anyway just curious as to what you all have to say. Oh and if you list something can you please also list what it treats. Remember I am new to taking care of fish seriously.

A

Anonymous

For me, I tend to keep a few percoset, some vicodin, a couple of xanax and a few jars of ether.

A

Anonymous

Oh wait, you meant for fish..lol..my bad. Melafix, Pimafix, Rid Ich, some Epsom salts and some tetracyclin powder.

A

Anonymous

Wolf-Keeper1 said:
Spyral said:
Oh wait, you meant for fish..lol..my bad. Melafix, Pimafix, Rid Ich, some Epsom salts and some tetracyclin powder.
cool. Is this a basic cure-all list?
I'm sure others will chime in, but it has served me well for a few years now.

Ashley

Tetracycline powder for medicated feeding. I've used it with tuna from the grocery store. Mix it with the powder and fish love it. It will help cure internal infections. (ie. a big wound that will effect the fishes internals)

Prazi pro- For worms and all that good stuff

Salt- For minor cuts and scrapes that you want to heal faster.

Have also used melafix for cloudy eye/pop eye

Ash-Rayne

Spyral said:
For me, I tend to keep a few percoset, some vicodin, a couple of xanax and a few jars of ether.
OMG! I swear I didn't see this before I made my comment on the POTM thread. Seriously.

Anyways...I agree with some of what Spyral recommend. Melafix for injured fish to aid healing and prevent infection (great to have on-hand for bettas) also used for fin rot & other bacterial infections, PimaFix for treatment of fungus, Aquarisol for treatment of common parasites and velvet disease, and of course aquarium salt. Those effectively cover just about any problem you may have with most fish.