Algae stuff

thecarl

I got a couple of good photos of the algae I've been fighting for a couple years. I managed to eliminate it from one of my aquariums by tossing all the plants and letting it dry out for a month, and starting new. Haven't had problems since. I don't really want to do that to all my other tanks though. Any ideas what it is, how to treat it?

Tanks are CO2 injected. Moderate/High Light 8 hours a day, PH 6.8-7.2, amonia, nitrates, nitrites are all zero. GH ~100ppm, KH 80ppm. Temperature in the tanks runs right at 78F.

Here's the 20 gallon:
IMG_1611-X3.jpg

And here's a closeup of the stuff in the 20 gallon:
IMG_1613-X3.jpg

I want to point out I cleaned the tank out of this stuff manually Friday, photo taken two days later (Sunday.) It's already taken over the entire tank again to give an idea of how fast it's growing.

Any pointers are much appreciated, thank you!

Ali

Holy hair algae Batman!

What, if any ferts do you use?

First I'd back off lighting (2 3hr periods with a mini break in between maybe?) and co2. Even a total dark-out for a few days. Manual removal and hair algae loving critters can do a lot in a short period of time.

FishBeast

1. Shorten your lighting periods like Ali suggests. Complete dark day and also back off on CO2.
2. Change the water daily or every other day for a week.
3. Ghost and/or Amano shrimp might help. Also Otocinclus.
Good luck!

VickiK

Member with a lot to say

thecarl

So far no real improvements, been doing more frequent water changes, cut back on the ferts completely. Now the plants just seem to be suffering as the algae continues to grow. It's rate of growth has decreased but it still takes over the entire tank in about a week's time. I have a lot of blue-green algae growth now on top of all of this so I'm treating the tank with E.M. tonight to get that stuff killed off.

thecarl