Understanding Photoperiod...heh heh...period.

So, I have a question...

Let's assume that plants can only photosynthesize light for 8 hours. So, we set our lights to go on timers so that they are on at specific times of the day.
Now, let's also assume that, because people work during the day, it makes more sense to have the timers go on closer to the evening, instead of in the morning when no on is at home.

If the tank were close enough to a window where it's getting SOME sunlight, do the plants start photosynthesizing with the little amount of light that's coming from the sun? If so... does that cut into the total photoperiod?

Did any of that make any sense? I'm not good at explaining things. Let's see if I can do it this way:

I have my timer set to turn on at 3pm and then turn off at 11pm, totalling in 8 hours of light.

6am - Sun starts to rise - lights are still off.
8am - Sun is blasting its light and ambient light comes in from the windows. Plants start to "bend" toward the light source (wherever the window is)
-
-
3pm - Lights turn on.
-
-
11pm - Lights turn off.

So, basically, from 8am onwards too 11pm, the plants are getting some source of light, totalling to about 15 hours of potential light.
Does that mean from 8am - 4pm the plants stop absorbing light, and from 4pm-11pm I'm just providing light for algae growth?

My 55 gallon tank is about 12 feet away from any window, but I've noticed that in the mornings when the lights on the tank are still off, the plants tend to "bend forward" towards any light they can grasp, which is a window that faces somewhat directly infront of the tank, as if the plant is trying to get whatever light it can get from any ambient light in the room.

So, I guess in short...
Does ambient light, interfere with photoperiod? Does that mean I should decrease the time I have my lights on? That wouldn't be very fair for plants that require higher light though...so how does one get around this?