New to Africans

more pictures on my mfk post -- https://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/threads/new-to-africans.723312/

Bought these the other day from my local PetSmart in the 'assorted Africans' tank. They are about 1.5 - 2". They are in a 29 gallon tank just the two of them. This is my first time ever keeping africans but ive kept sa/ca cichlids for 15 years.

The yellow fish is the yellowest fish I've ever had, the Kenyi is probably the prettiest blue fish I've had as well. I'm wondering if the yellow is a yellow lab. It does not show any black in the dorsal fin though yet and it appears that its pelvic fins are white and it has a slight white undertone to its fins and also at certain angles you see tiny flecks of blue in the yellow but can only see that when looking very close.

My other guess was that they could be hybrids being in the assorted tank. I'm familiar with the commercial hybridization that occurred with the red devil and midas cichlids in the ca world and it is my understanding that this occurred with African mbuna cichlids as well. I've come to the conclusion that my yellow fish is a hybrid yellow lab of some sort.

Is it possible for my kenyi to be a hybrid also? Oh, also I've noticed the Kenyi is the aggressor in the tank, I'm thinking of adding new fish or trying to breed them but wanting these guys to get established first or at least quarantined.

Any African cichlid experts in the area Tacoma/Seattle area?

Thanks,
C.

AC Pics5 (dayone).JPG

DMD123

Administrator
Staff member
Contributing Member Level III
@christophercanary, welcome back to the forums. I remember you from a while back raising Central Americans. The site has been slow the past couple years but its still up and running. Be patient, there are a few African cichlid keepers here but it might take a day or two to get a response.

Looks like you got two really nice looking fish there!

Betty

Staff member