New fish lover in spanaway

Status
Not open for further replies.

SilkyT

Hello all, I'm Tim. I am new to keeping fish but loving it already. I found what I hope to be a good starter set up (30L) and hope it's adequate for the fish that came with it. Two eight inch red bellys, a couple 4-5 in goldfish, and two 4-5 inch plecos. They are in a holding tank till tomorrow when their new tank is safe. I had to start from scratch with this one, as it was very cloudy/ nasty. I Worked on the tank for over 8 hours. So, these lil guys have all new stuff now and (hopefully) I did it right, according to the info I got from friends/google/forum lurking. I am open to all suggestions/ comments/ criticism. I am your noob to mold and I hope to learn alot here as I go. Pics will come soon when the fishies get in their new house.
-Silky

A

Anonymous

Welcome to the site!

Honestly, I think that is too much fish for that tank. especially with the Red Bellies, as they will grow HUGE and produce a lot of waste. What kind of filtration are you running?

SilkyT

Yeah, unfortunately it is a lot of fish for the tank, but it was a take all or nothing deal. If I found someone looking for a couple red bellies I would be willing to part with them so they could have a larger home. Right now the tank has the tetra whisper 20-40g it came with. I'm open to any suggestions. Thanks for the warm welcomes, this is gonna be fun.
Silky

sandnuka

Check out the equipment for sale on the forum.... I know I have a tank listed and is a pretty good deal. Anyway, welcome to the sight, maybe we can get you a bigger tank cheap. this forum is filled with great deals! Dont hesistate to ask questions, and post some pictures.

lars on

Welcome to the site! The goldfish actually have a big ammonia load to, and depending on the type can get up to 9", I wouldnt reccomend putting them in anything smaller than a 55 unless you have a HUGE filter.

me