Multi tank stand idea. Thoughts?

hose91

Fair point. My stand sits on a concrete slab in the garage, so I didn't consider that. Even so, the subfloor will spread the point loads out to the joists anyhow, so unless you're worried about a dent in hardwood floors, that's not a terribly large concern. When locating my 75G on the second floor, I found this very good article by a moderator over at cichlid-forums who is an experienced structural engineer. (I'm a civil engineer and work with lots of structural guys which has given me an appreciation for what they do). It's worth a read...http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/aquarium_weight.php

The section following Myth #9 where he defines the types of stress and talks about what happens when you put the aquarium on the floor is where he talks about the pressure from stand legs on the floor.

What angle does that pressure propagate at? I know clamping force spreads at a 45° angle. Or close. And I'd think vertical load pressure would follow along the same lines. So if the foot were to land directly between joists the load would never come close to the joists. Even using 2 inches of subfloor which is way out of the realm of reality. I'm trying to remember what the last house I built was engineered for as far as the dead load and live load. Seems like 10 lbs a sq ft dead and 50 live? Its been a few years but those numbers seem right.

hose91