I have American cichlids and wanna start African tank

adal

Ok so a little while ago I moved my south american Dwarf cichlids to a 54g corner tank and now
I have an empty 29g that I want to turn into an african tank but Im a newbie when it comes to african cichlids.
my set up would be:
huge bio wheel filter
40w fluorescent light
150w heater
mini jet powerhead
45lbs aragonite/crushed coral substrate
40lbs "dead" live rock
I already have all of this its just not put together yet, and my biggest Q's would be:
what kind of africans can I get for a 29g? I want the colorful kinds, I've heard its good to overstock but not really sure what would be safe.
the substrate/rock was in a saltwater aquarium but I dried and stored it,would it be safe to use in freshwater?
my tap water comes out at about 8.2ph, I also have african lake buffers, should I even use them or is my tap water ok?
thanks

aaronfeeney

If your tap is 8.2 Then the aragonite and dead LR should buffer the PH well enough. but use a good african cichlid salts, this will provide the right trace elements for their health. In a 29 you ought to pick some smaller breeds. Abig group of Mbuna will out grow that tank pretty fast.

Anthraxx

dont bother with the salts. give them a good stable water. ph isnt as important as you think. 2nd a 29g is far too small for many species of africans that easily reach 5-6 inches as adults. sure as juvies or as a fry grow out it would work but longterm ur not gonna be able to house much thats super pretty in there. however there are still africans that will fit the bill. Neo. Brichardi, Shelldwellers, and Julidichromis to name a few. Kribs are another one. sry to burst ur african bubble. but id say start with a 55 if you wanna try them out for size. ive done all the typical african mistakes myself.

sidekicking

Yup definitely go bigger man
a 29G tank would be horrible for most africans....mbuna would be the most colorful ones and easiest to keep but very aggressive

WhosUrDadi