Hello From Snohomish

Hefateus

Hi, I'm fairly new to fish keeping but am really enjoying it. I have a 20 gal tank with tiger barbs (regular and albino) I also have a 72 bow front with glass cats a few buenos Aires tetras, a bunch of corys a few other odd tetras of common varieties and an angel to round it out. Im currently trying my hand at growing black worms for a live food source. So far so good. I really want some CPO's or other dwarf cray but I hear they are bandits in the washington fish world.

keman

Good luck with the blackworm. They stink if you keep them in the house. I tried a few ways of keeping them and failed. Now I just buy small batches and keep them in a "keeper" in the fridge.

ziggyzoo

keman said:
Good luck with the blackworm. They stink if you keep them in the house. I tried a few ways of keeping them and failed. Now I just buy small batches and keep them in a "keeper" in the fridge.
Hahaha worst smell ever!!! I kept them in the garage and every time I would walk by I smelt them and starting looking around to see if an animal got into my garage and died!! Haha then I realized it was them, never got any again..

Hefateus

I keep them in two clear plastic shoe boxes with air stones under my aqaurium. They havent started stinking yet but there is still time! lol They each have about 4 inches of water in them. I plan to change the water every week and use water from the aquarium water changes. Ill keep you updated if it works out for me.

clifford

I've tried a few methods for keeping blackworms, including some fairly elaborate culture tanks with various specialized conditions. If you aren't ready to set up a large volume of water, I think it's more cost effective (both in terms of time and money) to pick them up at a local shop. If you find something that works, be sure to share it. There isn't much good info online. (lab conditions with paper towels are NO way to grow blackworms)