From lurker to poster

jriechel

Hey, thought I'd actually make an introduction, especially since I expect I'll be pestering the good folks of this forum for help.

I'm a high school science teacher in Marysville and have been in the District for 28 years, the last 20 at Marysville Pilchuck HS. I grew up in Kent. I had several aquariums in my teens, which were inspired by a 10 gal community tank that my father maintained for a few years, I guess when I was especially impressionable. I had a couple of 20's and a 10 gal that I attempted to have, at various times, a community tank, a planted tank, Jack Dempseys, and a RB Piranha back in the good old days when they were available around here. I wasn't very successful on any of those fronts, looking back on it primarily due to complete lack of knowledge about what I was doing. I just stumbled and fumbled along.

In my dorm at the UW, I brought my 10 gal and set it up with a Black Moor and Red Capped Oranda with I think water sprite as the plant. The water supplied by Seattle was a huge improvement over what I had in Kent. I accidently discovered this when the plants grew extremely well, requiring me to pitch about half of them every week just to keep swimming area open for the fish. I was ecstatic. I finally had a successful aquarium. Successful enough to get voted the best dorm room on the floor in our semi-annual/semi-party voting day.

The next 25 years contained no aquariums. Career, family, kids, houses, cars, pets, all conspired to prevent one. Last summer, I purchased a 15 gal "cube" that I set up in an attempt to have as a planted tank. Though not as successful as I was hoping, at least the plants grow. Here's what I looks like tonight:

t7bhn9.jpg

What looks like cloudiness in the water is actually glare off the floor lamp my wife was reading by when I snapped the pic.