*FREE Presentation* Fish Collecting in Peru @GSAS; January 9th

Seattle_Aquarist

*FREE Presentation* Fish Collecting in Peru hosted by Greater Seattle Aquarium Society (GSAS) - Jan 9th

39339711631_55e3e019a3_o.jpg

The Greater Seattle Aquarium Society (GSAS) is pleased pleased to announce our January 9th GSAS speaker is our very own Dean Tweeddale. Dean has been a GSAS member since the 1980's. During his time as a member he was an early breeder of Discus as well as many Corydoras and Apistogramma species. Currently in his fish room he is breeding German Blue Rams, Angels, Discus, Corydoras, and "L-series" Ancistrus. He will be giving a talk on his trip last year to Amazon in Peru where he collected several fish species.

Dean writes:
I’ve been keeping fish in some form or other for about 53 years. I started with four common guppies that I had to keep in the toilet bowl for the first day and night. It was lucky we had a second bathroom in the house. They of course produced more guppies and by the time I was 13 I was trading or selling guppies back to the pet stores and had 7-10 tanks if you included the ones kept hidden from parental view under the stands. I joined GSAS in the early 80’s and shortly after created my first fishroom. Now a few fishrooms later I’m keeping about 50 tanks and have one weakness when it comes to keeping fish. You see I’m not just happy having a tank full of nice looking fish and looking at them. I must figure out how to condition them to spawn and reproduce. That is my fish keeping challenge. I couldn’t even begin to talk about the all fish that I’ve spawned, I probably have forgotten more of them that I can remember. But it has been just about everyone that I've set out to reproduce. The fish collecting trip to the Amazon was my first collecting trip and a lifelong dream.