Clown Breeding Project

EmoNemos

A little background first: I have been keeping saltwater tanks off and on for bout 7 years now. I picked up a bonded pair of Black and White Misbar Osc. (Tank-bred) in January for my 29gal bowfront. The previous owner told me the pair never had shown any signs of spawning in the 3 years of having them. The female (Gothica 5yrs) and the male (EmoNemo 3yrs) started to show breeding behaviors once I put them into my 90gal. Moving them to the 90gal was an attempt to make them a little less aggressive towards me, which was a complete failure. Anyhow I decided to try and raise the fry that my Misbars were about to have.

Having no idea what to do I did research on the internet. Found an awesome site: breedclownfish.com which gave me a good idea on how I could actually do this successfully. I had 2 10gal tanks ready to go for my first fry hatchings. First batch I caught about 20 fry with a siphon hose in which only 2 survived. :no: Disheartened by this I had high hopes for the next batch. (Discovering that my salinity was 1.028 in the first batch.) Caught only 15 this time and about 7 survived to the 10 day mark. Little better but not what I was hoping for.

Disaster Strikes! I miss the third hatch night and come home to find the only surviving fry I had to have expired due to heater malfunction. Back to square one...

Beginning of October: Hatch night I catch about 30 and 20 survive the 10day mark. The following weeks about the same numbers in surviving fry. Now I feel like I got this process down. :D

EmoNemos

Current Process

I now have ~60 babies that are 1-2 months in age and 30 fry without bands appearing. (I probably got my terminology wrong considering they are probably all fry until juveniles) My process so far is simple.

Hatch Night: