Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Tank 2

• Tank 3

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

GreenMan

[GALLERY=media, 260]Angelfish pair by GreenMan posted Jan 8, 2018 at 12:05 PM[/GALLERY]Hi again, this thread is related to the my previous thread in which I asked for advice for stocking a 65g tank. The thread is here: http://www.wafishbox.com/forums/threads/cichlid-advice-please.13647/

Anyway, after some health issues and extensive research I'm FINALLY ready to pull the trigger on this tank upgrade. I've narrowed it down to two stocking ideas and wanted to run them by you to get your feedback. Obviously I'm a newbie at this and have limited experience.

My current tank is a 45 tall and has a breeding pair of angels, 4 Bolivian rams, 1 school each of Cardinal tetras and Serpae tetras. I also have some corydoras and otos. Nobody has been interested in adopting my angelfish so I am planning to work around them. I THINK I have a home for my Bolivian rams and I intend to keep the other fish.

I bought a 65g and made a stand for it. Now I'm ready to go! I've planned a heavily planted, medium tech system with CO2. I intend to add a protein skimmer and UV filter within 6 months. I'm running an Eheim canister filter rated for 50% higher than the 65 tank I'm using. Eco-complete is the substrate but I may make a last minute switch to sand depending on advice given here.

That was a very long introduction to these two stocking ideas:

Tank 1

- 2 angelfish (breeding pair)
- 3-5 firemouth cichlids
- 1-2 red shouldered severum
- 2 schools of tetras (red-eye, serpae or lemon)
- 1 mating apistogramma pair
- 3-5 flagtail porthole catfish

Tank 2

- 2 angelfish
- 5 blue acaras (not electric)
- several apistos of various types
- tetras

Ok, I can't resist because I'm still hoping to find a home for my angelfish:

Tank 3

- 1 red shouldered severum
- 3 keyholes
- 5 blue acaras
- 2 dwarf acaras
- 1 pair apistos

Which of these stocking ideas sounds most reasonable? I'd love your feedback! Thanks.